Email Us or give us a call: 419-562-6767

500 South Sandusky Avenue
Bucyrus, Ohio 44820-2623

Fax: 419-562-1245

Special Notice:



The Bucyrus City Council will meet at 5:50pm on Thursday, June 3rd, 2021 for a Special Council meeting called by council members in Council Chambers of Bucyrus City Hall, 500 S. Sandusky Ave.
• Council will consider the Appointment of a new City Council Clerk.
The Public is invited to attend the meeting. Only the topics mentioned in this announcement will be considered during this meeting.

The Bucyrus City Council Committees will meet at 6:00pm on Thursday, June 3rd, 2021 for joint regularly scheduled committee meetings in

The public is invited to attend the meeting. Council reserves the right to  amend the agenda as needed for the regularly scheduled Council meeting.

Bucyrus Council President Kurt Fankhauser


Council President Kurt Fankhauser (R)

1675 S. Sandusky Ave.

City Council serves the residents of Bucyrus.  There are 7 members of Council  -  4 Ward representatives and 3 At Large members- and a President of Council.  Council members and the Council President  are elected to 2 year terms with the election held in odd number years. 

Council meetings are televised on our local access Channel.  At each meeting the citizens of Bucyrus are able to present information about upcoming events, public service messages, or bring up subjects for discussion

Please join us on the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of each month in Council Chambers at City Hall.  


Bucyrus City Council Members

2020 Bucyrus City Council

Bucyrus City Council Members

Bucyrus Council Member Bruce Truka

Bruce Truka (R), Ward 1

Service Committee Chairman

Serves the following Committees:
Finance, Health & Safety, Public Lands & Buildings, Platting

1135 East End Way

Bucyrus Council Member C. Aaron Sharrock

C. Aaron Sharrock (D), Ward 2

Public Lands & Buildings Chair

Serves the following Committees:
Public Lands & Buildings, Economic Development, Service

1485 Oakridge Drive

Bucyrus Council Member William O'Rourke

Doug B. Foght (I), Ward 3

Economic Development Committee Chair

Serves the following Committees:
Economic Development, Public Lands & Buildings, Platting

330 West Oakwood Avenue

Bucyrus Council Member Lisa Alsept

Lisa Alsept, Ward 4 (I)


Serves the following Committees:

1323 N. Sandusky Ave.

Bucyrus Council Member Dan Wirebaugh

James Mee (I)


Serves the following Committees:
Finance, Health & Safety, Platting

873 W. Perry St.

Bucyrus Council Member Wanda Sharrock

Kevin Myers (R)

Health & Safety Committee Chair

Serves the following Committees:
Health & Safety, Finance, Service, Economic Development

421 West Oakwood Avenue
Bucyrus Council Member Mark Makeever

Mark Makeever (R)

Platting Committee Chair 

Serves the following Committees:
Platting, Finance, Health & Safety, Public Lands & Buildings

833 South Poplar Street

Council Clerk Todd Hill

Rebecca Van Hesteren

Bucyrus Council Clerk

419-562-6767 x 238

2020 Bucyrus City Council Committees, Duties and Assignments

  • Doug Foght, Chair
  • C. Aaron Sharrock 2nd
  • Lisa Alsept
  • Kevin Myers
  • Airport (Service to Community)
  • Chamber of Commerce (Labor,Organizations, Associations)
  • City Planning Commission
  • City Real Estate Management
  • Crawford County Economic Development
  • Downtown Revitalization
  • Enterprise Zone
  • Enterprise Zone Agreements
  • Fair Housing
  • Industries (Promote, Help, Attract)
  • Promotion of Jobs, Local Business
  • Prospective Real Estate Acquisitions and Purchase Options (Public/Private)
  • Railroads (Service to Community)
  • Service on Various Boards Dealing with Economic Development
  • Tax Abatements
  • Tax Incentive Review council – Related Activities
  • Tourism and Visitor’s Bureau
  • Mark Makeever, Chair
  • Kevin Myers 2nd
  • Bruce Truka
  • James Mee
  • Appropriations
  • Bed Tax
  • Budget
  • Enterprise Zone Agreements
  • Financing
  • Grants
  • Manpower/Compensation
  • Salary Schedule
  • Tax Abatements
  • Kevin Myers, Chair
  • Mark Makeever 2nd
  • Bruce Truka
  • James Mee
  • Ambulance
  • Emergency Management Agency
  • Fire Department
  • Health Insurance
  • Liquor Permits
  • Parking
  • Peddler Permits
  • Police Department
  • Street Lighting
  • Traffic Control
  • Mark Makeever, Chair
  • Bruce Truka 2nd
  • Doug Foght
  • James Mee
  • Annexations
  • Building Permits
  • Dedications, Streets & Alleys
  • Grades
  • Railroads (Maintenance & Repair)
  • Sewers & Drains (CM &R)
  • Sidewalks (CM&R)
  • Signs
  • Streets (CM&R)
  • Subdivisions
  • Vacations, Streets & Alleys
  • Zoning
  • C. Aaron Sharrock, Chair
  • Doug Foght 2nd
  • Mark Makeever
  • Bruce Truka
  • Agricultural Land
  • Bike & Hiking
  • Buildings
  • City Real Estate Management
  • Land Leases/Sale
  • Office Space
  • Parks & Playgrounds
  • Prospective Real Estate Acquisitions & Purchase Options (Public/Private)
  • Reservoirs
  • Bruce Truka, Chair
  • Kevin Myers 2nd
  • Lisa Alsept
  • C. Aaron Sharrock
  • Airport (Maintenance & Repair)
  • Cable TV
  • Fleet Insurance
  • Garbage Service
  • Gas, Electric & Telephone
  • Local Access Cable
  • Recycling
  • Sewage Service
  • Storm water Utility Service
  • Water Service